Premier League kits revealed for 2023/24

Premier League kits revealed for 2023/24, See what clubs will wear this season and where you can get your own, Take a look as...
HomeAustraliaUniversitiesList of Australian Universities 20223

List of Australian Universities 20223

List of Australian Universities, Australia is home to 43 universities with at least one university main campus based in each state or territory. Australia, officially the Commonwealth of Australia, is a sovereign country comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania, and numerous smaller islands. With an area of 7,617,930 square kilometres, Australia is the largest country by area in Oceania and the world’s sixth-largest country. Australian universities for international students, university of sydney, Australian universities ranking, universities in melbourne, universities in Australia for masters, best universities in Australia for international students

There are 43 universities in Australia: 40 Australian universities (36 public and 4 private) and 3 international private universities. The Commonwealth Higher Education Support Act 2003 sets out three groups of Australian higher education providers: universities, other self-accrediting higher education institutions, and state and territory accredited higher education institutions.

For admissions to universities, those students who have completed Australian state curricula are granted a state-specific Australian Tertiary Admission Rank. All public-funded Australian universities use the ATAR based “selection rank” as one of their methods of admission; universities also use past study, work experience and other considerations in granting admission. The ATAR provides an indication of the overall position of the student in relation to the student body for that year across the state. The ATAR is used by state-specific centralised admission centres for admission to government-funded universities. Among the private universities, the Bond University and Torrens University also use the ATAR based statespecific centralised admission centres, while other admission to other private universities is through direct application to those universities.

The Australian universities location map shows university campuses across major Australian locations. Most universities have more than one campus and are located across multiple states and territories, providing you with a choice of where in Australia you would like to study.

List of Australian Universities

Australia is home to 43 universities with at least one university main campus based in each state or territory

Australian Capital Territory

  • Australian National University
  • University of Canberra

New South Wales

  • Australian Catholic University
  • Charles Sturt University
  • Macquarie University
  • Southern Cross University
  • University of New England
  • University of New South Wales
  • University of Newcastle
  • University of Sydney
  • University of Technology, Sydney
  • Western Sydney University
  • University of Wollongong

Northern Territory

  • Charles Darwin University


  • Bond University
  • CQ University
  • Federation University of Australia
  • Griffith University
  • James Cook University
  • Queensland University of Technology
  • University of Queensland
  • University of Southern Queensland
  • University of the Sunshine Coast

South Australia

  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • Flinders University
  • Torrens University Australia
  • University of Adelaide
  • University of South Australia


  • University of Tasmania


  • Deakin University
  • Federation University of Australia
  • La Trobe University
  • Monash University
  • RMIT University
  • Swinburne University of Technology
  • University of Divinity
  • University of Melbourne
  • Victoria University

Western Australia

  • Curtin University
  • Edith Cowan University
  • Murdoch University
  • University of Notre Dame Australia
  • University of Western Australia

Download the Australian universities campuses map (PDF 513KB)